Now a days, starting a blogging website is really simple task. In this article, I want to discuss about the following topics.
- Who can write blog and where?
- How wordpress is better than free blogging websites?
- Best place for hosting wordpress
- Other alternative hosting websites.
- some techniques to analyse your users
- What are CPM, CPC, and CPA?
- Where to get advertises?
Who can write blogs and where?
Anyone can blog. Yes, it’s true. No knowledge of coding/ programming/ web development is required.
This question may be different for people with different perspectives. There are websites like wordpress.com and blogger.com which host your blogs in free. But wordpress does not permit you to give your adds ( or adds of third parties like google adsense, etc.) while blogger is neither good for SEO nor for Google adsense. It is very hard to verify account with google adsense using blogger. Blogger also limits the number of blogs up to 100 only.
Blogger is good for such bloggers who are writing only for interest or don’t want to buy a domain and hosting. But for the bloggers, who want fully freedom on their blogs and want to earn money then buying a domain and hosting plan is good idea. Now a days, it is not too expensive to setup your own website. It may feel some tricky to the quite beginners but it is easy and takes a very few time to learn how to do all this stuff.
Please note that these free blogging websites post your blogs on their own sub-domain (not on your own domain). They also do not give full access on your blogs. More details are in next section.
I will advise you to host your own domain. It is not expensive. The domain cost is about $10/year and hosting cost is $4 to $10 per month (depends on your hosting choice). Many hosting companies also give a great discount for first order. It will be better to register your domain by the same company from which you are buying hosting. Mostly company gives the discount for it. They also provide the free domain for first year. If you are know nothing you do not have to be worried about your money as all companies give a 45-90 days money back warranty. You can easily experiment with different companies.
Why wordpress is better than free bogging sites?
- Full control: Free blogging websites like blogger and wordpress.com give you a little control. In the beginning, limited control also seems enough, but as website grow this limited control is not enough for earning well. You can neither change the code nor can customise your website for more attractive user interface and other activities. On wordpress, you have 100% control.
- Unlimited Themes and Plugins: Wordpress has a number of free themes as well as paid themes. These themes provide much features than wordpress.com and blogger. There is no alternative of wordpress plugins. Wordpress.com has only limited plugins. Blogger has a handful plugins and you have to copy & paste most of the codes. For complex features you have no option on blogger.
- Advertisements and affiliates: For giving advertisements, wordpress has plugins for each company. Good themes on wordpress much attract users for affiliate links.
- Unlimited and featured: Free bogging sites are not unlimited. These website limit you indirectly. These website are unable to handle your high traffic.
- Google Rank: Google and other search engines give priority to self hosted sites rather than free hosting blogging websites. If you are planning to start with free websites and then self hosting then also you will loose your website rank and it will also not be easy.
Best place for hosting wordpress:
Bluehost is the best place for hosting your website. It has been also recommending by wordpress itself for last 10 years. It is best place for hosting wordpress because:
- Cheap: It starts with just $3.95/month. You can increase your subscription type as your website grows.
- Unlimited: For starter account, bluehost provides only 100 GB (enough for starting blogging website) and unlimited bandwidth. As your website grow you can choose Plus subscription plan which provides all things unlimited. I prefer Plus plan because of website speed and 100% unlimited things. Show me all offers at bluehost itself.
- Domain: Free domain for 1 year.
- Support: Bluehost provides an excellent support to its users. You will find 100% guide.
- More specific for wordpress: Bluehost provides special features for its wordpress hosting users. You can install wordpress with one click. If you find some difficulty then bluehost's agents will itself guide you.
Other alternatives hosting websites:
I prefer bluehost but if you are not ready for it then you can use any of these websites:
I am taking it at second place because it is not so much popular like bluehost. But it provides much features than bluehost in cheap. Sign up is free at arvixe.
- Cost is $4/month. Note this cost is lifetime cost. It means you will get cheap hosting even in your next payment. It is best option after bluehost.
- All things are unlimited.
- Free domain for lifetime. Yes, this is website which gives you lifetime free domain with no extra charge. If you want very cheap hosting then it is best.
- Good support.
- Cost is $8.95/month. But you can use promo code SAVEMY90 for $90 discount on your order. It will cost you about $27/year.
- Free domain for one year.
- All things are unlimited. If you want all things unlimited in cheap cost then it is better than bluehost's starter type account (not plus type account).
- Special features for wordpress.
- Great support.
SEO:SEO (Search Engine Optimization) plays a very important role in web development. It helps search engines to bring users to your website. Specially, in blogging websites most of the users visit website via search engine. So, optimizing website is crucial part of a website. For wordpress, their is a plugin named ALL SEO PACK which helps a lot in optimization. But it is better to trace your users and use analytic to improve your SEO. There is not a straight formula to optimize a blogging website. It is a daily observation and experiments of keywords.
Some techniques to analyse your users:
These analytic tools trace your users and show the number of visits, new visits, unique visits, page views, sessions, downloads, path of visitor on website, country, coming source, keyword type in search box, etc. It helps a lot to improve SEO and also helps in the content of website according to location of the visitors.
What are CPM, CPC and CPA?
CPM, which stands for Cost-Per-Mille (Mille is Latin for “thousand”), is when the price is based on 1,000 impressions. Almost all Publishers prefer to bill on impressions because it is an inventory based product, rather than a performance based product. In other words, publishers risk nothing on ad performance with a CPM system and get paid for every impression. For the largest and best-known Publishers, this is the pricing standard and in terms of overall cost, CPM priced media is almost always at the top of the food chain.CPC stands for Cost-Per-Click, and is a performance-based metric. This means the Publisher only gets paid when (and if) a user clicks on an ad, no matter how many impressions they serve trying to get the click. As you can guess, this pricing structure is much more favorable to Marketers, but can be difficult if not impossible to negotiate with any Publisher with a premium brand, especially with all the Ad Networks and Ad Exchanges out there today willing to pick up unsold inventory and pay by CPM, albeit a low CPM. Publishers don’t like CPC pricing because it is difficult to plan inventory demand around a moving target like click-through-rate on an ad they’ve never seen or tested before. Two campaigns with the same CPC rate might require vastly different levels of impressions for the Publisher to bill in full and this uncertainty is a high opportunity cost to pay. Only when they’ve exhausted their ability to sell by CPM will Publishers entertain CPC offers, and by that point, Marketers are scraping the bottom of the barrel in terms of inventory availability and quality. If you are a brand fighting for the attention of a key demographic, this simply won’t do.
For smaller publishers without much of a brand however, selling their inventory on a CPC basis is often the only option they have. But don’t let the disdain among premium Publishers fool you, the CPC media business is an immense, multi-billion dollar market and there are plenty of people making a fortune off clicks. Just ask Google – Google’s AdSense product is the largest CPC clearing house on earth that attracts Publishers and Marketers by the thousands. CPC is a very low risk way to buy media because Marketers only have to pay for performance, so they have some level of confidence in their return on investment.
CPA, or Cost Per Action, or sometimes Cost Per Acquisition is the best deal of all for Advertisers in terms of risk because they only pay for media when it results in a sale, or conversion against their campaign goal. At this level, Marketers can pick the most they’re willing to spend for a sale and can basically set an unlimited budget and forget about it. Similarly to CPC pricing, this is usually an awful deal for Publishers. Affiliate Marketing programs operate on a CPA basis with Publishers that are exclusively devoted to hawking their products with sites that are more advertorial than anything else.
That said, all Direct Marketers will calculate their effective CPA, or eCPA as an optimization metric and to track their Return on Investment. An eCPA can be calculated by taking the total marketing cost and dividing it by the number of sales realized. So, if you were a company that bought $50 worth of media to advertise a product and made 5 sales to people that clicked on your ad, your eCPA was $50 / 5 sales = $10 per sale. This was a great deal if you make more than $10 in profit on each sale, but if not, you’ll have to rethink your marketing strategy.